How my man popped the question & other great moments of 2016..

As if it is 2017 in just a few days.

Where has 2016 gone? I cannot believe how quickly time is passing. When growing up a year would seem like such a long time but now I am older, it flashes past in an instant. Slow down please!

20161216_083217

2016 has been an incredible year. Truly amazing. Here are a few of my major highlights from 2016:

1.Getting ENGAGED! In February 2016 my man popped down on one knee on the top a hill in Lake Vyrnwy. It was so beautiful but unfortunately not that romantic at first as I had previously been in one hell of a mood on the journey there. We had spent the day in Porthmadog, which is my favourite place ever, and then on the way home Glenn said he wanted to pop past him Mum’s field because they needed help with something. It was pissing down outside and I was not a happy bunny. New white converses + a field full of sheep shit = raged Olivia!

He somehow managed to get me out the car and I carried Violet up the hill. Wondering why the hell his Mum and Dad had planned to do work on a field in the middle of February in the pouring rain, I was completely oblivious to the fact that it was all a trap to get me to see the beautiful views of Lake Vyrnwy and to turn around to find Glenn down on one knee asking me – moody, naggy, pain in the ass – Olivia to be his wife. What the f…!? HELL YES! Then followed by me apologising a lot that I had been so mean. Violet wondered what the hell was going on but it was so lovely for her to be there. It was perfect.

Still haven’t forgiven him for ruining my new shoes though – Glenn, if you’re reading this I’m a size 5.

20161209_221840

2. Violet starting Primary School. *sobs* I’m happy but sad happy. My baby girl is no longer my baby girl. She is four. Four whole years old. When Vi was a baby and in Alder Hey, I never thought that this would happen. I would stay up crying and worrying about what life was going to be like for her.

Four years on and I still question why all those things happened to my girl and I don’t think I will ever fully understand or believe that it ‘just happens’.

I used to think it was all bad that happened to Vi, which it was absolutely awful, but she is proof you can be so strong, so fearless and so incredible. Whenever I am having a bad day, feeling unwell, I sit and think of my little darling bundled up in her hospital gown on that hospital bed. If my 9 day old love can go through brain surgery and four years later ride her scooter and sing Away in a Manger today, you can do anything.

20160906_080512

3. New job! I started in my new job at a hospital in the IT Department in January 2016 and I am still here 12 months later and bagged a promotion in those months too. I’m working towards some more qualifications which will all be done before the wedding.

Accepting the new job last year was the best thing I ever did. The people I work with are so lovely and so helpful. They really push me to do better and teach me new things every day. I might get on their nerves sometimes when I create an angel on the wall with my face on top BUT they are all so funny and I’m grateful to work with such wonderful people.

4. Started my blog! It’s been a few months since I started my blog and I have loved every minute of it. I have loved reading other blogs, meeting new people and hearing their stories and getting so many lovely recipes and home ideas! The best thing about blogging is when someone writes something and in your head you say “OMG I thought I was the only person who ever thought that!!” – that is such a surreal feeling!!

These next few blog posts will more than likely be about the wedding which is SO close now it is so friggin scary. I have so much to do but such little time..

20161225_105015

Many other amazing things happened like taking Violet to Disneyland Paris which was the most magical place ever! Two of my best friends married their partners and had the most beautiful weddings ever and they both looked gorgeous. Oh and to put a nice cherry on the cake, I am going to pick up a lovely new car this afternoon.

Anyway..I hope everyone has had an amazing 2016 and I hope your 2017 is just as incredible! I’m gonna be seeing in my New Year drinking lots of gin so my head might be hurting the first few days of 2017.

Lots of love,

OurSweetViolet xo

Mummuddlingthrough
Diary of an imperfect mum
One thought on “How my man popped the question & other great moments of 2016..

  1. Love to hear all about your amazing little Violet- what an inspiration to everyone. She really is a wonderful little person, full of life and a joy to all the family. I hope 2017 will be fantastic for you all – Happy New Year xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

