A very angry post…

Right, so something happened this weekend that has made me want to write a slightly ranty post. And by ‘ranty’, I mean a very angry post!!

I’m not a big drinker, I don’t go out very often so when I do, I do love to have a shop in the day time and get all dolled up ready for a good night out. So Saturday came along and it was my friend’s birthday and she gathered her friends together for a night out in town.

I love a good dance when I am out so we got to small place in town where there was a dancefloor. It was pretty crowded in there but we all danced anyway. Now I know that when you are dancing you get the occasional elbow in the back and a shove – when someone has decided to do a full on slut drop right behind you when there is no room to turn around – never mind stick your ass out and drop to the floor!

I felt a grab to the back and turned around and there was a boy trying to dance with me. I said “No thank you”, and carried on dancing. He did it again this time trying to have a grope, I said politely “No thank you” and gave him a shove away. And then he came to me again trying to grope me and said “Why are you in a club if you don’t wanna be touched?”

ARE YOU EFFING KIDDING ME?!?!?!

I mean, seriously, ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!

Oh I’m sorry, I didn’t realise walking in this club allowed you to grope me and it be OK. My bad..

Just because someone is out in a club does not mean it gives anyone the right to touch them without their permission. You would not do it in a shop – I hope! – so why do you think it is OK to do it here? Just because people have had a drink? Just because it’s busy so no one can see? It’s not acceptable so back the bloody hell off!

I don’t want my daughter or my sister – or anyone – growing up thinking that is OK. That is not OK. That is so not OK.

Even if you are single, it doesn’t make it OK for anyone to touch you if you don’t want them to.

To be fair, the security were pretty good in this place and they saw what happened and they gave him a warning. But I know this might happen to girls and boys everywhere and if I was giving Violet advice when she is older, it would be to go get security and tell someone straight away. Don’t just stand there and think it is normal. Because it isn’t. It isn’t right. If someone came up to you in the street and did that, it would be wrong and just because you’re out at night does not make any difference.

I hope no one else has experienced this but…unfortunately I bet they have. And it isn’t right 😦

Rant over.

OurSweetViolet xo

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A very angry post…

  1. I’ve just read all the blogs and how lovely and sweet they are, you sound like such a strong young lady, to have gone through all of that, violet is very lucky to have you as her mummy.
    I’ll look forward to reading more of your blogs

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

